Leaving an Impression

(Start at the beginning)

Noel’s Christmas – Monday, December 6th

“Leaving an Impression”

“Okay,” Nick started, taking hold of both of Noel’s shoulders and making her face him.  “I need you to be completely honest with me right now, Noel.”

“I will be very honest with you, Daddy,” she answered with a softened tone.  “I promise.”

“Are you sure you want to do this?” he asked with a very serious look on his face.

“Yes, Daddy,” Noel replied, fidgeting a little but still answering him straightaway.  “I’ve given it some serious thought and I’m sure I want to do this.”

“And you understand the risks?” he asked, raising his eyebrows.

“Yes, Daddy,” she answered with fussy breath.  “I know it’s risky, but I feel it’s time that we do this.”

“And you’re not scared?” he asked, confused as to how easily she was answering him.

“No, Daddy,” she answered with a small voice.  “I’m not scared.  I know you will be right there with me and I know you will hold my hand.”

“Do you need your diaper changed?” he asked, trying to distract her.

“Not yet,” she answered softly.  “And you put lots of baby powder on me.  So, I know I won’t get a rash if I start to sweat.”

“Are you gonna be a good girl?” he asked with lustfulness.

“Yes, Daddy,” she said with breathy whisper, growing fussy in her tone.  “I need to do this …. really bad.”

“And you’re sure you understand the risks?” he asked again.  “Things might never be the same, after this.”

“Yes, Daddy,” she said, swallowing a lump in her throat.  “I understand.  This might change how I see the world.”

“I don’t know,” he said, growing hesitant.

“Daddy, come on!” she said in a huff, grabbing his hand and leading him out the front door.

They faced towards the front of the house, still holding hands.  This was it.  There was no turning back.

“Three … Two …,” he said, counting off.  “… One!”

They both fell backwards, throwing their arms out and landing in the snow.  Then they started moving their arms and legs, in-n-out and up-n-down.  After a few seconds, they carefully sat up – both breathing heavy.

“Was it good for you, too?” Nick asked, Noel breaking out into hysterical laughter as he carefully stood up and then helped her to her feet.

Then they stood there and admired the snow angels they had just made.

But they weren’t done just yet.  There was another cardiovascular activity they just had to do.

So, Noel dropped to her knees in the snow.  And while on her knees, she gathered all the snow directly in front of her into a small pile.  Working it up into the shape of a ball, she began to roll that ball of snow forward – crawling along as it picked up more and more snow.  She would roll that ball of snow until it got too heavy for her to push anymore … at which point, Nick started rolling it – Noel starting on another.

They would do this one more time, Nick stacking the balls of snow on top of each other and barely being able to get the third one all the way to the top.  It was a really big snowman.

But Noel feared that the snowman would get lonely.  After all, there were two snow angels to keep each other company.  So there needed to be two snowmen.  Then she got a better idea than that.

Rolling three more balls of snow, significantly smaller in size, she made a snow BabyGirl – Nick even taking the ready-to-go BabyGirl pacifier out of his coat pocket and plunking it into the snow BabyGirl’s mouth.

Fun in the snow was a pre-requisite for winter.  Standing proudly, she admired the snowman and snow BabyGirl.  And as they went back inside, she looked back at the snow angels – proud that she was a playful BabyGirl who was very good at leaving an impression.

Continue on to Tuesday, December 7th

One response to “Leaving an Impression

  1. Pingback: Those Good Feelings | zorrodaddy.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.